There are two categories of members for the Association of Tree Officers

1. Local Authority and housing association membership 

2. Individual tree officer membership

Please note:

  • Unless Directors agree otherwise you must have a email address for Local Authority membership
  • Retired tree officers can also be individual members subject to application and majority approval by ATO directors

For housing association membership criteria is as follows:

  • The officer manages the housing association tree stock
  • They should have a professional qualification or working towards one in arboriculture or related discipline like forestry
  • The officer is employed directly by the housing association
  • The officer’s email address has the housing association’s name

They should apply with a couple of paragraphs as to why they want to join which would need Directors approval.

To apply to become a member of ATO please email the National Co-ordinator on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


As of April 1st 2024, Subscription rates of ATO are as follows:

Membership costs

Membership Level

Cost per Annum

Local Authority and housing association


Individual Tree Officer



LTOA Local authority full members are conferred ATO membership as their subscriptions contribute to the administration of ATO.

Subscription rates may vary from year to year. Please speak to the National Co-ordinator for more details. 

As of April 1st 2024, the benefits of ATO Membership can be summarised as follows:


Membership benefit



Local Authority/ housing association £225

Representation and influence for tree officers in the arboricultural sector and other related sectors

ATO can act as a conduit for local authority tree issues through representation to local & central government

Access to the National Co-ordinator and ATO Directors for support and advice

Regular email updates about relevant industry events, publications and items of interest

Support the work of regional tree officer groups

Being a part of a growing community of tree officers from all over the UK

Quarterly newsletter

Joining working parties that produce arboricultural best practice guidance

Provision of an appropriate forum for tree officers to network, share ideas and experiences (only for LA members)


Two online seminars per year from an invited speaker about a topic of relevance (only for LA members)


Advertising job vacancies on the ATO website and via email (only for LA members)  



Please note: individual members can attend the two ATO online seminars for £100 per seminar.


Current ATO members

Babergh and Mid Suffolk Council

Bath and North East Somerset Council

Barking & Dagenham Council

Barnet Council

Basingstoke and Deane

Bedfordshire Borough Council

Blackpool Council

Brent Council

Broadland District Council

Bromley Council

Camden Council

Caerphilly County Borough Council

Central Bedfordshire Council

City of London

Croydon Council

Denbighshire Council

Dorset County Council

Ealing Council

Enfield Council

Fareham Borough Council

Gedling Borough Council

Guildford Borough Council

Hackney Council

Halton Borough Council

Hammersmith & Fulham Council

Harringey Council

Harrow Council

Havering Council

Hillingdon Council

Hounslow Council

Hyndburn Borough Council

Isle of Wight

Islington Council

Kingston Upon Thames Council

Lambeth Council

Lewisham Council

Liverpool City Council

Merton Council

Newcastle City Council

New Forest District Council

Newham Council

North Norfolk Council

Nottingham City Council

Oxford City Council

Powis County Council

Redbridge Council

Richmond Upon Thames Council

Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council

Royal Borough of Greenwich

Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea

Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council

Sheffield City Council

North Norfolk Council

South Oxfordshire and Vale of White Horse District Council

Southwark Council

Sutton Council

Thameside Metropolitan Borough Council

Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council

Tower Hamlets Council

Transport for London

Waltham Forest Council

Wandsworth Council

Westminster City Council

West Oxfordshire District Council

Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council

Wychaven & Malvern District Councils

Housing associations



Current individual members from

Swansea Council

Surrey Heath Borough Council

Mendip District Council

Forest of Dean

Welwyn Hatfield

Mole Valley

Isle of Anglesey County Council

Retired Tree manager